PROCESSING…

SPIDER-MAN 3 (2007)
–  3 and a half out of 5 stars

Saw Spider-man 3 on Wednesday. 

Anyway, the movie, I think, focuses more on the “human” aspect than the “superhero”aspect; talking about forgiveness and making choices. Spider-man is like so full of himself (“Everybody loves me”), likes to show off his skills and behaves like a celebrity. This time, his enemies include Green Goblin the Second, the Sandman and Venom. The Green Goblin was so funny? I mean how can a villian almost lose his life because he bumped his head on a spiderweb? And the first thing that came to my mind when I saw Sandman was “what a waste”. I mean, Singapore and other countries face a shortage of sand and Sandman uses it like nobody’s business? Later, I heard from my sister that they utilized corn instead – cheaper and in abundance. As for Venom, I think his weakness is similar as DareDevil’s although it attacks them in different ways. Topher Grace is like damn evil looking in that suit and probably in need of a dentist too.

Back to movie-business, the effects are good though the movie started slow enough to make the guy beside me doze off for quite a while. The movie delivers a few laughs, what’s with the vibrating table at the Daily Bugle to the French restaurant scene. Peter Parker is funny when he’s under Venom’s influence; combing his fringe down, flirting and dancing in the streets. Like he’s another person altogether. Personally, I think Venom is the most watchable villain, since he’s evil, slimy and black. He looks worst (more menacing) in the movie than the cartoon, maybe it’s more realistic, that’s why? But I liked the ending; all misunderstandings cleared and good triumphs over evil once again.

Leave a Reply

