CREPÚSCULO

TWILIGHT (2008)
– 4 out of 5 stars

OMG! I don’t really know how to phrase this properly but…
I WATCHED TWILIGHT LAST NIGHT!

Everything’s kinda hazy and I definitely need to relive those memories. But otherwise, I thought the movie was moving at a rather slow pace until the climax, of course. The 122 minutes just passed unknowingly and it is different from the book, in terms of certain dialogue/scenes and some details that only readers of the book would know. =)

First of all, I LOVE VAMPIRE BASEBALL! Man, I tell you, it’s way cooler than Quidditch (which can be kind of dizzy, even though Cedric Diggory was the Captain of his team). Second of all, the fight scene at the ballet studio was simply thrilling! Anticipating their actions, reactions and I didn’t know Alice did that! Oh, I like the part where Edward goes to school with Bella with his shades – so cool! The scene where Edward saves Bella from the truck didn’t disappoint too!

I can hear gasping and muffled screams when Edward appeared for the first time and it was funny to see how he used his ability (FYI: He can read minds except Bella’s) in the carpark against Mike and Bella, and his scenes with Charlie (Bella’s father). But the parts in the forest may shock/scare or even become funny when Edward displays his strengths. It was more to the shock part for me cos it didn’t feel like it did when I read the book. Edward’s stares are disturbing at first, but later, it just feels funny. But I guess it’s because Robert Pattinson’s playing a tortured character who’s in love with Bella and yet, his vampiric nature wants to make Bella a meal (oh, look out for the ballet scene!). The prom was played out nicely – loved that pavillion – and the soundtrack was fully utilized in the film! Otherwise, I was slightly saddened by their short-lived scene in the meadows, the diner scene and the development of their romance but I guess it was hard work trying to condense everything into 2 hours. But I can tell they edited some parts out!!

All in all, I think the book is better (as with most book-to-movie adaptations) but it feels great to have your favourite books come to life on film and have leads with such chemistry play your favourite characters.

(But as a crazed fan, it’s 4 and a half out of 5 stars)

I realized after watching the movie, that I was watching it on the original US release date (12.12.2008) before it was brought forward! YESSSS!!!

Leave a Reply

