KJ’S 10 FAVOURITE MOVIES OF 2008

In chronological order:

1) ATONEMENT 

Guess I’m a sucker for doomed romances, aren’t I?
Cecilia: I love you. I’ll wait for you. Come back. Come back to me.

2) JUNO



Bleeker: Did you put like, a hundred tic-tacs in my mailbox?
Juno: Um, yeah that was me.
Bleeker: Why?
Juno: Well you know, because they’re your fav, and I figured out you could never have enough of your favorite one calorie breath mints.

3) CHARLIE BARTLETT

Teen movie that focused on the dangers of popularity and acceptance and it got overly serious at times (Hello? The principal carrying a rifle?), but nonetheless, one of my favourite coming-of-age movies. Oh, not to forget Tyler Hilton!!

Principal Gardner: Charlie, there are more important things than popularity!
Charlie Bartlett: Like what? Cause I’m seventeen. And right now, popularity’s pretty damn important!
Principal Gardner: Like what you do with that popularity.

4) WANTED
Cool visuals and great effects. The magic ‘X’ and the traceless bullets. My favourite scene? Check it out here.
Wesley: What the fuck have you done lately?

5) HELLBOY II: THE GOLDEN ARMY

When the prequel came out, I didn’t have a good first impression of it. I mean, I can tell a lot of people don’t get it. I didn’t but now I do.

Most entertaining scene? Here!

6) WALL-E

A robot in barren Planet Earth. It’s so endearing and determined to move Eve, a foreign robot. The human spirit featured in the movie is touching and motivating. From Wall-E: “Ta-daa!”

7) TWILIGHT

100-year-old vampire, Edward Cullen, finally finds his soulmate in the form of Bella Swan, who has the sweetest scent and makes him want to protect her and kill her at the same time. And of course, Robert Pattinson!!

Bella: Are you going to tell me how you stopped the van?
Edward: Yeah. Um… I had an adrenaline rush. It’s very common. You can Google it.

8) BOLT

I think the only reason for this was RHINO!!! Fat hamsters rule the day!!
Rhino: All my training has prepared me for this moment. [rushes towards guard]
Rhino: Die! Diiie!

9) ANGUS, THONGS AND PERFECT SNOGGING

Another coming-of-age movie, but in the British aspect. Being a 14-year-old girl isn’t easy; you’re stuck in the middle of teenhood and girlhood. The story revolves around Georgia’s journal entries, what better way to know more?

10) NICK AND NORAH’S INFINITE PLAYLIST

A sort-of love-at-first-sight story with many twists and turns. It makes you want to find one of your own.
Norah: Are you sad that we missed it?
Nick: We didn’t miss it. This *is* it.

Leave a Reply

