I CAN REMEMBER LOTS OF THINGS

SIXTEEN CANDLES (1984)
– 5 out of 5 stars

Sixteen Candles is about Samantha Baker, whose family have forgotten her 16th birthday, and has to endure her embarrassing grandparents and a foreign exchange student who tagged along for her sister’s wedding. She has a crush on the most popular boy in school, Jake Ryan, and the geekiest boy in school has a crush on her! That’s probably the worst situation a 16-year-old girl can ask for.

I resisted not reviewing this but I love it! Released in 1984, I guess I’m making an effort here to catch some of the more outstanding movies written by John Hughes, who passed away August 6, 2009. He really has a way with the minds of teenagers, and captures it in his films. At sixteen, sometimes you feel overshadowed by your siblings or peers, and you can’t get seem to get a certain somebody to notice your existence.

Anyway, I loved the part where Jake meets Samantha after her sister’s wedding. It’s like the most classic scene, ever! I would very much love to be in Samantha’s shoes. The thing is, Jake is not like most jocks – arrogant and self-centered, and he probably wished he wasn’t a jock in the first place. He’s just a normal guy, really. Or maybe just the quintessential boyfriend material.

Jake Ryan: I want a serious girlfriend. Somebody I can love, that’s gonna love me back. Is that psycho?

This is like going right on top of my favourites list!

Leave a Reply

