LOVE AND LIFE IN NYC

NEW YORK, I LOVE YOU (2009)
– 3 out of 5 stars

Caught New York, I Love You some time back, but I didn’t feel much love at all.

Like its predecessor Paris Je t’aime, it is an anthology film that joins several love stories in New York. Featuring stars like Orlando Bloom, Natalie Portman, Shia LeBeouf, Ethan Hawke, Hayden Christensen, Anton Yelchin, Bradley Cooper, Maggie Q and Shu Qi – it is an ensemble you would want to see onscreen. The Ethan Hwake/Maggie Q segment made me blush cos Ethan Hawke was speaking really awkward stuff. Some other segments just made me feel more ‘lust’ than ‘love’.

I only liked two stories, which were directed by Brett Ratner and Joshua Marston. Brett Ratner directed this segment about a guy’s prom night after being ditched by his girlfriend (a 10-second appearance by Blake Lively). It ended up being the best night of his life – with his useful belt. Joshua Marston directed the segment where an old couple celebrates their 60th anniversary and rediscovers love for each other. Awww…

Anyway, I liked Paris Je t’aime better. Each segment brought out the theme better and there’s Gaspard Ulliel! I can still remember he charmed me the moment his messy hair, grey singlet, lit cigarette appeared onscreen. Not to mention he speaks smouldering French. Oohlala.

Leave a Reply

