THE ROCK HAS BEEN WAITING

127 HOURS (2010)
– 4 and a half out of 5 stars

First things first:

I KEPT MY EYES OPEN FOR 127 HOURS!

127 Hours stars James Franco as Aron Ralston, whose right arm got trapped by a boulder while canyoneering alone, with no one aware of his whereabouts. It recounts his ordeal back in 2003, and what he did in order to survive.

Aron Ralston: This rock has been waiting for me my entire life. It’s entire life, ever since it was a bit of meteorite a million, billion years ago. In space. It’s been waiting to come here. Right, right here. I’ve been moving towards it my entire life. The minute I was born, every breath that I’ve taken, every action has been leading me to this crack on the out surface.

Based on Ralston’s autobiography, Between A Rock And A Hard Place, you should know he lived to tell the tale and what he did to free himself – amputating his right arm with a dull knife. During those 127 hours, he tries to free his arm, ration his food and water supply and at the same time, protect himself from the elements. He starts imagining things (especially those where he frees his arm from the boulder) and also recalls his past, loved ones and regrets. Some of these personal messages and regrets were all captured on his video camera, which were later used as material to make the movie. He goes from being in denial to accepting his fate, writing his own epitaph on the wall.

Aron Ralston: Listen! Don’t buy the cheap made-in-China multi-tool.

Well, there’s this (in)famous amputation that everyone’s talking about and it will either make you watch the movie, or make you not watch it. Seriously, I was a little worried because there’s been reports of people fainting or vomitting during that scene. But my sister and I were more worried about people fainting or vomitting on us. But I made it through and it may be a bloody and intense scene, but it just tells you how much Ralston wants to get out of there alive. And it won’t be so bad once you’ve seen his previous attempts. The most painful scene was when he cuts the nerve. Whooosh. Strangely, the part where I felt like vomitting was when he drank his own urine. He’s right, it’s no Slurpee and personally, I don’t think yawning is as contagious as vomitting. The gagging sounds didn’t help. When he finally frees himself, I guess you can say it was the triumph of the human spirit. And he sure got a damn strong will to live because he still had to make his way out of that canyon before he could get help. 4 and a half out of 5 stars.

Aron Ralston: I do still have the tiniest bit of water left. Well, actually, I’ve resorted… I’ve had a couple pretty good gulps of urine that I saved in my Camelbak. I sort of let it distill… It tastes like hell.

I think the most important thing to take away from this experience is to always leave a note. Others might include using a stool to reach for items (like a Swiss army knife) in high places and don’t leave your Gatorade in the van. Oh, and I probably won’t look at my contact lenses the same way again.

To end this review, enjoy this video!

As at time of post, the movie is up for six nominations at the 83rd Academy Awards.

(And if you’re up for it, visit my Tumblr for 127 Hours-related posts!)

Leave a Reply

