PUT YOUR BLACKBERRY IN THE FREEZER!

MORNING GLORY (2010)
– 4 out of 5 stars 

Morning Glory stars Rachel McAdams as Becky Fuller, an aspiring news producer who gets dismissed from her job due to budget cuts. She takes up the role of executive producer of DayBreak, a flailing morning show that suffers from poor ratings due to fierce competition from other networks. Add a reluctant veteran news journalist Mike Pomeroy (Harrison Ford), who refuses to report anything that are not “real” news and goes against co-host Colleen Peck (Diane Keaton) at every turn, Becky has her hands full trying to do her job and save the show.

Becky Fuller: Yes! I’m calling about the one-bedroom. Yes! I’m moving into town, I’ve got a new job! I’m extremely neat and tidy. In summer camp, the kids used to pay me to make their beds. (laughs) I’m sorry that was an over-share. No loud music. No kids. I don’t even have a boyfriend! Just me! I’ll take it! (jumps up and down) I’ll take it. I’ll take it. I’ll take it!

OMG I LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS MOVIE! And it’s not just because Rachel McAdams is in it. I liked how the story played out and the ending as well – especially the scene when Mike made his frittata! Rachel McAdams was a total Energizer bunny in the movie – it’s the first time I’ve ever seen her like that and I wouldn’t mind doing it again. She kinda bumbles her way around Adam (Patrick Wilson), her love interest, and I liked how she tried to mime because she was too nervous to speak. Her efforts to drive up ratings were hilarious like how weatherman Ernie had to do stunts while reporting the weather and the various animals involved when Colleen was on the show. The constant battle of words and ego between Mike and Colleen is another must-watch, like when they fight over who gets to say the last goodbye. Plus, there’s even a cameo of 50 Cent! Last but not least, I love Rachel McAdams’ wardrobe! Very classic and simple pieces of a working girl. 4 out of 5 stars!

Becky Fuller: Look, my radar for that kind of thing is so bad. I mean, I don’t know if a man’s interested in me until he’s naked. I mean, the pants come off and then I’m like “I guess you don’t really want to see my CD collection or talk about Kerouac.”

MTV.com: Rule The Office In ‘Morning Glory’ Style: The Working Girl’s Essentials

Leave a Reply

