AT THORNFIELD HALL

JANE EYRE (2011)
– 4 out of 5 stars 

Mia Wasikowska and Michael Fassbender star as Jane Eyre and Mr. Rochester in this 2011 film adaptation of the Charlotte Brontë classic.

Mr. Brocklehurst: And what is hell? Can you tell me that?
Jane Eyre: A pit full of fire.
Mr. Brocklehurst: And should you like to fall into that pit, and to be burning there forever?
Jane Eyre: No sir.
Mr. Brocklehurst: What must you do to avoid it?
Jane Eyre: I must keep in good health and not die.

I’ve only read the comic book version of Jane Eyre and after watching the movie, I’m gonna find some time to devour the actual book! I’m extremely enamoured by their way of speech, especially how everything sounds like poetry out of their mouths. I’ve included my favourite line from the movie at the end of this post. OMG the moment I heard it, my knees went weak. The girl beside me was like controlling herself not to scream out in happiness. LOL. Yup, period dramas really set my heart racing.

I thought Mia Wasikowska did a pretty good job playing Jane Eyre. Not to mention, Michael Fassbender was hot in an old English way. And I have a really odd question – did people in those times kissed quite like they did?

4 out of 5 stars

I’d probably die without regrets if someone said something similar to me:

Edward Fairfax Rochester: I sometimes have a queer feeling with regard to you—especially when you are near me, as now: it is as if I had a string somewhere under my left ribs, tightly and inextricably knotted to a similar string situated in the corresponding quarter of your little frame. And if that boisterous channel, and two hundred miles or so of land come broad between us, I am afraid that cord of communion will be snapt; and then I’ve a nervous notion I should take to bleeding inwardly.

Leave a Reply

