FINDING THE LOST APPLE

那些年,我們一起追的女孩  YOU ARE THE APPLE OF MY EYE (2011)
– 4 out of 5 stars

I’m pretty sure the whole world watched it before me (some twice) but I finally watched 那些年,我們一起追的女孩 and it reminded me of simpler, happier times.

Anyway, the movie’s based on the teenage years of Giddens Ko, who also wrote the novel and directed the movie. It tells of five friends who have a crush on the same girl during high school and the eventual bond one of them shares with this girl.

It’s weird typing all that up there and if you really want to know the plot, there’s always Wikipedia.

First of all, nudity! Thank goodness nothing full frontal but there’s enough sexual references at the start of the movie to make one expecting something more sombre blush. My colleague thinks “the butt wasn’t firm enough” though. Second of all, the textbook incident! I think I almost laugh-cried at the same time because it does exist! It stayed with me during schooling years when I had a textbook around and slowly slipped away as the years past. Only then there were two people standing. I can’t think of a time when this emoticon :’) can be used except here. Last of all, I think only a few people can make you laugh at the same time when you’re crying badly.

I miss secondary school days even though I made incredible friends in JC. I think life back then seemed easier people were less complicated. So what about teenage angst. I love teenage angst. It kick-started so many things (good and bad). Comparatively, adult angst just sucked. Some days, I have no idea why I’m so frustrated at everybody, at the world. I doubt anyone would have lent me that textbook without thinking twice if I were in JC. Think too much, think too little – what’s the difference? I’m still waiting for someone who makes me laugh and cry at the same time and vice versa. So thank you, wherever you are, and may I not avoid you in buses or trains.

STAY AFTER THE END OF THE CREDITS FOR SOME BEHIND THE SCENES FUN!

好想再回到那些年的時光
回到教室座位前後 故意討妳溫柔的罵
黑板上排列組合 妳捨得解開嗎
誰與誰坐他又愛著她

那些年錯過的大雨
那些年錯過的愛情
好想擁抱妳 擁抱錯過的勇氣
曾經想征服全世界
到最後回首才發現
這世界滴滴點點全部都是妳

Leave a Reply

