THE WICKED CURVEBALL

TROUBLE WITH THE CURVE (2012)
4 and a half out of 5 stars

An ageing baseball scout, Gus Lobel, goes on a recruiting trip with his daughter, Mickey, when his vision starts to fail him.

Gus Lobel: Being comfortable is overrated.

I really liked the movie after watching it even though I’m not a fan of baseball or Clint Eastwood. Maybe because there aren’t many father-daughter bonding films around (if there are others, please let me know!) and I liked how the story of this father-daughter pairing goes. Amy Adams is very charming as usual and I liked how she’s tough and independent, whether it was at work or helping her father watch the players. The only time she was vulnerable was when she dealt with abandonment issues.

The final scene where Mickey “redeems” herself with her father and Johnny was screaming with girl power because Mickey knows the game better than some underhanded type-everything-in-my-computer guy (Matthew Lillard – when did he like playing such assholes? First in The Descendants, now here?).

The movie probably wowed me more because I don’t know the game and maybe because I like Amy Adams and Justin Timberlake, though it doesn’t mean I like both of them together. They banter well, but just don’t have that romantic spark to me.

One thought on “THE WICKED CURVEBALL

  1. Hopefully this isn’t Clint’s last flick before big-time retirement, because the guy can still nail it and does so here. The only problem is that the rest of the film doesn’t help him out so much in-return. Nice review.

Leave a Reply

