GET PITCH-SLAPPED

PITCH PERFECT (2012)
4 and a half out of 5 stars

Gail (Elizabeth Banks): Nothing makes a woman feel more like a girl than a man who sings like a boy.

I watched Pitch Perfect today and I loved every minute of it! First of all, there were very subtle Supernatural references – 1. Kansas’ Carry On Wayward Son, and 2. Brock Kelly. Are you kidding me? Every time I hear that Kansas song, I could almost sit down and cry. Though Brock Kelly appeared less than a minute but his eyes, his hair and his lips are so mesmerizing! Second of all, references to The Breakfast Club. OMG, this reminds me of Easy A from last year, or is it the year before? I was overpowered by tweens while watching this therefore I think it is safe for me to say none of them ever heard of the movie. Boohoo to them. It probably explains why I shushed them when they started talking when the characters were watching TBC. So rude! Just so you know, I cried during the finals’ when I heard the TBCsong!

Oh, how I wish there was someone to watch 80’s movies with me!!!

Lilly: I think I have an idea…
Fat Amy: Excuse me bitch, there’s no need to shout.

Then, there were really cute characters. Rebel Wilson steals the show as Fat Amy. Everything she does is hilarious! Horizontal running, mermaid dancing and all her one-liners. Then, there’s Anna Kendrick who plays Beca who’s really good with deejaying and Brittany Snow whom we haven’t seen on the big screens for a long time. Last but not least, SKYLAR ASTIN who plays Jesse! First, he stole hearts air-guitaring to that Kansas’ song and then he stole hearts the moment he started singing, talking and breathing. Right now, I’m trying to get a hold of movies starring Skylar Astin but there’s not many so I’m really looking forward to 21 and Over, which also stars Justin Chon and Miles Teller!

Jesse: You’re one of the acappella girls. I’m one of those acappella boys, and we’re gonna have aca-children. It’s inevitable.

STAY FOR AN EXTRA SCENE DURING THE CREDITS and if you, like me, really like to stay till the end of the credits so you can see all the songs featured in the movie, there’s an extra BEATBOXING VOCAL CLIP at the end of credit roll.

HOPE YOU ALL LOVE THE MOVIE LIKE I DID!

*****
Saw this for a second time and I’m really into the songs featured in the movie. Maybe it’s the second viewing, but I actually paid more attention to the sounds they made with their mouths, like the “zum zum’s” and “twang’s”. Whole new appreciation for a capella music right now!

And Skylar Astin looks really hot when he sang “Right Round”. What was he thinking, moving his hands the way he did? Plus the jacket swish during the Riff-Off.

OOOH! Can’t wait for the DVD to be out!
*****

One thought on “GET PITCH-SLAPPED

Leave a Reply

