JOURNEY TO LONELY MOUNTAIN

HobbitUJ1THE HOBBIT: AN UNEXPECTED JOURNEY (2012)
5 out of 5 stars

WOW! I LOVE THIS MOVIE!

This is part one of a trilogy of movies based on J. R. R. Tolkien’s novel, The Hobbit. Set sixty years before the events in Lord of the Rings, it tells of how Gandalf convinced Bilbo Baggins, a hobbit, to journey with thirteen dwarves led by Thorin Oakenshield to reclaim the Lonely Mountain from Smaug the dragon.

First of all, I am new to Middle Earth.

I have never watched any LOTR movies, though I most likely would after watching this. It could be the action scenes, the lush scenery, the humour, the riddles or the hot dwarves. Yes, you read it right. HOT DWARVES. Personally, I prefer Kili (Aidan Turner). Doesn’t he just look hot? Everything he does is magical (wiping mud off his boots, throwing plates, shooting arrows, staring at horses, looking stunned, etc.) and his scenes with brother, Fili, are very bromantic. For those who prefer the masculine feel, there’s Thorin Oakenshield (Richard Armitage), the leader of the dwarves and the bravest of them all.

HobbitUJ2

Story-wise, it is very compelling too. The journey is perilous and the Orcs constantly chasing them. There are goblins and giant spiders and Gollum. The moment Gollum appears, there’s a shift in the air. He’s creepy and the air feels creepy too. I liked the riddles part most, because I was guessing along as well! I managed to guess two riddles correctly!

Gollum: If Baggins loses, we eats it whole.

And I was freaking out when I saw the names of Lee Pace and Benedict Cumberbatch appearing on the same slide! Too bad I only saw five seconds of Lee Pace and almost none of Benedict Cumberbatch but I hope that the next two movies will feature more of them!

And Aidan Turner too!

HobbitUJ3-Kili

Leave a Reply

