AIM FOR EXCELSIOR

SilverLiningsPlaybookSILVER LININGS PLAYBOOK (2012)
5 out of 5 stars

I have been waiting to catch this ever since I saw the trailer and it took so long for the movie to be shown in Singapore theatres. Nonetheless, it is here and I suggest everyone go watch it!

Tiffany: I was a big slut, but I’m not any more. There’s always going to be a part of me that’s sloppy and dirty, but I like that. With all the other parts of myself. Can you say the same about yourself fucker? Can you forgive? Are you any good at that?

Pat (Bradley Cooper) did eight months in an institution after being diagnosed with bipolar disorder and desperately wants to reconcile with his ex-wife. He tries to keep his condition in check and things become more challenging when he meets Tiffany (Jennifer Lawrence), a young widow with issues of her own.

Tiffany: I do this! Time after time after time! I do all this shit for other people! And then I wake up and I’m empty! I have nothing!

This is an unconventional romantic comedy and I loved it! Jennifer Lawrence really killed it in that diner scene. That maniacal laugh! I would say Jennifer Lawrence and Bradley Cooper brought out the best in each other. While Pat was trying to his best to win his ex-wife back, he doesn’t even realize the effects of Tiffany’s presence. One of my favourite scenes was at the dance competition where both parties unknowingly held each other’s hands!

Jennifer Lawrence was really amazing as Tiffany. She made me laugh and she made me cry. She makes it okay for people to have flaws as long as they accept them and that they make others accept them too. She warns people not to judge a book by its cover too quickly. Probably the most perfect imperfect human being on film I have seen. Also, it was so good to see Julia Stiles back on the big screen again! I remember a time not so long ago when she was the face of many coming-of-age films.

Pat: The only way to beat my crazy was by doing something even crazier. Thank you. I love you. I knew it from the moment I saw you. I’m sorry it took me so long to catch up.

Leave a Reply

