IT AIN’T ALL DARK AND IT AIN’T ALL LIGHT

beautiful_creaturesBEAUTIFUL CREATURES (2013)
3 and a half out of 5 stars

Based on the first novel of the Caster Chronicles series created by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl, Alden Ehrenreich and Alice Englert star as Ethan and Lena, an ordinary boy and a girl from a line of Casters, who fall in love despite the extraordinary circumstances. It is dark time for the couple because Lena is to be claimed on her 16th birthday, her true nature will decide if she becomes a Light or Dark Caster.

Well, I really wished every marketing team would stop comparing each new novel-to-movie adaptation as the new Twilight because it is getting old.

I enjoyed this movie though I’m not a particular fan of witches/Casters/people who use spells. What makes this enduring is the chemistry between the leads and how Alden Ehrenreich actually makes you believe every word he says even though he is a mere mortal sucked into a world of Casters. Emmy Rossum is deliciously evil as Dark Caster/cousin Ridley Duchannes and her costumes are really va-va-vooom!

Ethan Wate: No! I’m sick of listening to your family. I have been chased, spun, hypnotized, paralyzed, and damn near killed by your family. I have been going out of my mind for the past two weeks, then your mother shows up on my door step and damn near gives me a heart attack but you know what I don’t care about them, about the curse, you are not going dark and you are not losing me! No matter what they do, no matter what they do to me, I’m still here.

Leave a Reply

