THE MOST HOPEFUL MAN

greatgatsby-1THE GREAT GATSBY (2013)
4 out of 5 stars

Based on the novel by F. Scott Fitzgerald, it follows the life of Jay Gatsby (Leonardo DiCaprio) and his neighbour, Nick Carraway (Tobey McGuire) who recounts his encounter with Gatsby during his time in New York in the 1920’s. There is mystery surrounding Jay Gatsby, the businessman who holds extravagant parties yet no one seems to know anything concrete about him. But one thing is clear to Carraway; Gatsby is in love with his cousin, Daisy Buchanan, whom he met in the past. However, she is now married. What follows is the doomed romance of Jay and Daisy, which could only seem to be wishful thinking on their part.

Like any Baz Luhrmann production, music plays a big part in the movies and audiences were treated to the likes of Lana del Rey, Florence and the Machine, Fergie and Jay-Z. It makes you feel like you’re at Gatsby’s parties.

I felt really sad after the movie ended. I’m not sure if Gatsby was really hopeful or deluded. Perhaps I’m too cynical for my own good but if I agreed with Carraway, I’m sure I’m not the only one who feels the same way. Or maybe I’m just not that into doomed romances anymore (that should be a good thing, right?).

I didn’t know Callan McAuliffe was in the movie as young Gatsby, or young Leo! What a striking resemblance! And I didn’t recognize Adelaide Clemens (Parade’s End) in the movie at all! I blame it on the eye makeup.

Jay Gatsby: I knew it was a great mistake for a man like me to fall in love…

greatgatsby-2

Leave a Reply

